Your Cart

Your cart is empty

Freight NZD $0.00
Total NZD $0.00

Stores in Alert Level 3 Areas are closed. All stores outside these regions remain open. CLICK HERE FOR LEVEL 3 CALL AND COLLECT STORES

Flamingo Boy

View Large Image
View Large Image

Flamingo Boy

$24.99

Or 5 fortnightly payments of $4.99 interest free with
A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTER...

In Stock

Shipping in 3-15 working days.

Description
  • Description
  • Delivery & Returns
A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION This is a landmark new novel from the nation's favourite story... teller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents' farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn't understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel. But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart. Only there's a kind sergeant among the Germans - a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken - and maybe even the whole town...
  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Publication Date: 26/02/2018
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Country of Origin: United Kingdom
  • Pages: 288
  • Dimensions (mm): 216x135x21mm
  • Weight: 310g
Read More
  • Format:Paperback
  • Publication Date: 26/02/2018
  • Author:Michael Morpurgo

When will my order arrive?

Not all products on the Whitcoulls website are stocked in our stores - many books are sourced directly from our suppliers to fill your order. The shipping time frames are shown for each product just above the Add to Cart button on the page. This shipping timeframe is also shown for each product on your order confirmation email and web order history.

Ships in 1-3 days

If in stock, these products will be dispatched in 1-3 working days from your order being placed, unless an item ordered is unexpectedly out of stock. Orders received before midday are usually shipped the same day, weekdays only, (excludes public holidays). These products can also be found in many of our stores. Use the Check In Store tool on the Product Detail page to see if a store near you has stock. It pays to ring the store first if you are planning a special journey to buy a particular product, as stock is only updated overnight and can be sold throughout the day at the store.

Ships in 4-6; 5-7; 10-12; 12-15 : Days
These products are in our supplier warehouses and have a longer lead time to dispatching. These products are not stocked in our stores and are only available to order on the website.

Currently In Store Only Sorry these products can’t be ordered online for the time being, but you can check to see if a store near you has stock.
To check instore availability : Select your Region, then click the Check InStore button.
It pays to ring the store first if you are planning a special journey to buy a particular product, as stock is only updated overnight and can be sold throughout the day.

In Store Only These products are not available to order online. Please use the Check in Store tool on the product details page to see if a store near you has stock.
To check instore availability : Select your Region, then click the Check InStore button.
It pays to ring the store first if you are planning a special journey to buy a particular product, as stock is only updated overnight and can be sold throughout the day.

Due DD Month
These products are due for release on the date shown. Many books have a specific release date that we must comply with, so these titles are not available to purchase unless the release date has been reached, and stock has been delivered on time.

Pre Order There’s nothing like eagerly anticipating a new release, so where we can, we offer pre orders to ensure you don’t miss out. When we can, we dispatch your pre order on the evening before the product is released. Depending on your delivery address, these orders can be delivered the very next day.

What happens if the goods are damaged when I open them up?

Should any damage be found after opening your parcel due to the damage being concealed (i.e. not obvious due to packaging) please notify Whitcoulls within 24 hours of delivery. We can discuss replacement or refund options, and will have the courier driver collect the damaged item and return it to us. Please Contact Us

Read more about Delivery Information
Read our Returns and Exchanges Policy

Recommendations

You might also like

The Bakehouse

Paperback | Release Date 13.08.15
$19.99
Ships in 3-15 working days.

Popular Penguin: Playing Beatie Bow

Paperback | Release Date 22.06.12
$12.99
Ships in 3-15 working days.

Once #06: Maybe

Paperback | Release Date 25.08.17
$24.99
Ships in 3-15 working days.

Hetty Feather #01: Hetty Feather

Paperback | Release Date 02.09.13
$19.99
Ships in 3-15 working days.

Hetty Feather #02: Sapphire Battersea

Paperback | Release Date 02.11.12
$19.99
Ships in 3-15 working days.