Your Cart

Your cart is empty

Freight NZD $0.00
Total NZD $0.00
0
  • Contact
Search
0 $0.00

The Lace Weaver

View Large Image
View Large Image
GOOGLE PREVIEW

The Lace Weaver

$22.99

Or 4 payments of $5.75 interest free with oxipay
The bestselling, breathtaking debut about love and war, and the battle to save a precious legacy. Each lace shawl begins and e...

In Stock

Shipping in 1-3 Days

Description
  • Description
  • Delivery & Returns
The bestselling, breathtaking debut about love and war, and the battle to save a precious legacy. Each lace shawl begins and ends the same way - with a circle. Everything is connected with a thread as... fine as gossamer, each life affected by what has come before it and what will come after. 1941, Estonia. As Stalin's brutal Red Army crushes everything in its path, Katarina and her family survive only because their precious farm produce is needed to feed the occupying forces. Fiercely partisan, Katarina battles to protect her grandmother's precious legacy - the weaving of gossamer lace shawls stitched with intricate patterns that tell the stories passed down through generations. While Katarina struggles to survive the daily oppression, another young woman is suffocating in her prison of privilege in Moscow. Yearning for freedom and to discover her beloved mother's Baltic heritage, Lydia escapes to Estonia. Facing the threat of invasion by Hitler's encroaching Third Reich, Katarina and Lydia and two idealistic young soldiers, insurgents in the battle for their homeland, find themselves in a fight for life, liberty and love. Praise for The Lace Weaver `A beautifully written and utterly compelling story of love and war and resistance that shines a light onto a dark and tragic period of history while also illuminating the enduring power of love and friendship. Unforgettable and emotionally wrenching, and as exquisite as the lace the women of the story weave.'Kate Forsyth `A sweeping historical story set in Estonia and Russia during the tumultuous year of 1941 ... This is a meticulously researched novel, and Chater seamlessly incorporates the symbolic motif of the Estonian lace-weaving tradition and the Tartu knitting circle to link the past and present ... Recommended for fans of Kirsty Manning and Kate Morton, this is a gut-wrenching tale about a devastating time in history. Full of hope, heartache and the power of keeping traditions alive.'Bookseller and Publisher `From the very first line, I was captivated by this tale of two very different, but equally heroic, women. There is beauty to be found everywhere: in the writing, in the women's friendship, in the tragedy, and in the motif of the lace shawls, which weaves the story together.'Natasha Lester, author of Her Mother's Secret and A Kiss from Mr Fitzgerald 'A rich, textured and evocatively told story of love, loss and the ties that bind. The setting is exotic and intriguing and presents a unique side of the war ... I found it difficult to put this haunting novel down and it will stay with me for a long time to come, I'm certain. Lauren Chater is a bold new force in Australian historical fiction. Bravo on a glorious debut!' Tess Woods, author of Beautiful Messy Love and Love at First Flight. `Beautiful and brilliant ... An impressive, powerful and skillfully told anti-war novel from an extremely gifted writer.' Backstory journal
  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Publication Date: 25/02/2019
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia
  • Country of Origin: Australia
  • Pages: 432
Read More
  • Format:Paperback
  • Publication Date: 25/02/2019
  • Author:Lauren Chater

When will my order arrive?

Not all products on the Whitcoulls website are stocked in our stores - many books are sourced directly from our suppliers to fill your order. The shipping time frames are shown for each product just above the Add to Cart button on the page. This shipping timeframe is also shown for each product on your order confirmation email and web order history.

Ships in 1-3 days

If in stock, these products will be dispatched in 1-3 working days from your order being placed, unless an item ordered is unexpectedly out of stock. Orders received before midday are usually shipped the same day, weekdays only, (excludes public holidays). These products can also be found in many of our stores. Use the Check In Store tool on the Product Detail page to see if a store near you has stock. It pays to ring the store first if you are planning a special journey to buy a particular product, as stock is only updated overnight and can be sold throughout the day at the store.

Ships in 4-6; 5-7; 10-12; 12-15 : Days
These products are in our supplier warehouses and have a longer lead time to dispatching. These products are not stocked in our stores and are only available to order on the website.

Currently In Store Only Sorry these products can’t be ordered online for the time being, but you can check to see if a store near you has stock.
To check instore availability : Select your Region, then click the Check InStore button.
It pays to ring the store first if you are planning a special journey to buy a particular product, as stock is only updated overnight and can be sold throughout the day.

In Store Only These products are not available to order online. Please use the Check in Store tool on the product details page to see if a store near you has stock.
To check instore availability : Select your Region, then click the Check InStore button.
It pays to ring the store first if you are planning a special journey to buy a particular product, as stock is only updated overnight and can be sold throughout the day.

Due DD Month
These products are due for release on the date shown. Many books have a specific release date that we must comply with, so these titles are not available to purchase unless the release date has been reached, and stock has been delivered on time.

Pre Order There’s nothing like eagerly anticipating a new release, so where we can, we offer pre orders to ensure you don’t miss out. When we can, we dispatch your pre order on the evening before the product is released. Depending on your delivery address, these orders can be delivered the very next day.

What happens if the goods are damaged when I open them up?

Should any damage be found after opening your parcel due to the damage being concealed (i.e. not obvious due to packaging) please notify Whitcoulls within 24 hours of delivery. We can discuss replacement or refund options, and will have the courier driver collect the damaged item and return it to us. Please Contact Us

Read more about Delivery Information
Read our Returns and Exchanges Policy

Recommendations

You might also like

The Baltic Falcon

Paperback | Release Date 01.05.13
$47.95
Ships in 10-12 days

Yellow Sky : Crisis for the Han Dynasty

Paperback | Release Date 15.01.15
$47.95
Ships in 10-12 days

Crouching Dragon: the Journey of Zhuge Liang

Paperback | Release Date 04.10.13
$43.95
Ships in 10-12 days

East of the River: Home of the Sun Clan

Paperback | Release Date 24.04.15
$47.95
Ships in 10-12 days

Turmoil : Battle for the Han Empire

Paperback | Release Date 19.02.16
$47.95
Ships in 10-12 days