Your Cart

Your cart is empty

Freight NZD $0.00
Total NZD $0.00
0
  • Contact
Search
0 $0.00

Under a Pole Star

View Large Image
View Large Image
GOOGLE PREVIEW

Under a Pole Star

$24.99
Or 4 payments of $6.25 interest free with oxipay
Buy One, Get One Half Price Books Learn More +
Exludes pre-orders. Lowest priced item half price. Not available in conjunction with any other offer. Offer ends Sunday 1st March 2020.
A panoramic historical epic and an unforgettable love story from the author of the Costa-winning The Tenderness of Wolves, for fa...

In Stock

Shipping in 2-5 days.

Description
  • Description
  • Delivery & Returns
Stef Penney, COSTA WINNING AUTHOR of THE TENDERNESS OF WOLVES, returns to the Arctic with 'A dazzling tale of romance and survival' (Guardian.) Perfect for fans of THE ESSEX SERPENT and TO THE BRIGHT ... EDGE OF THE WORLD. '[Penney writes] with a persuasive and appealing hunger . . . there is a touch of Donna Tartt here' The Times 'In the masterfully evoked Arctic landscape and in her depictions of sex . . . she finds her true, dazzling stride' Guardian Flora Mackie first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of twelve. In 1889, the whaler's daughter from Dundee - dubbed by the press 'The Snow Queen' - sets out to become a scientist and explorer. She struggles to be taken seriously but determination and chance lead her back to northern Greenland at the head of a British expedition, despite the many who believe that a young woman has no place in this harsh world of men. Geologist Jakob de Beyn was raised in Manhattan. Yearning for wider horizons, he joins a rival expedition, led by the furiously driven Lester Armitage. When Jakob and Flora's paths cross, it is a fateful meeting. All three become obsessed with the north, a place where violent extremes exist side by side: perpetual night and endless day; frozen seas and coastal meadows; heroism and lies. Armitage's ruthless desire to be the true leader of polar discovery takes him and his men on a mission whose tragic outcome will reverberate for years to come. Set against the stark, timeless beauty of northern Greenland, and fin-de-siecle New York and London, Under a Pole Star is a compelling look at the dark side of the 'golden age' of exploration, a study of the corrosive power of ambition, and an epic, incendiary love story. It shows that sometimes you have to travel to the furthest edge of the world in order to find your true place in it.
  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Publication Date: 20/10/2017
  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • Country of Origin: United Kingdom
  • Pages: 608
  • Dimensions (mm): 197x142x38mm
  • Weight: 420g
Read More
  • Format:Paperback
  • Publication Date: 20/10/2017
  • Author:Stef Penney

When will my order arrive?

Not all products on the Whitcoulls website are stocked in our stores - many books are sourced directly from our suppliers to fill your order. The shipping time frames are shown for each product just above the Add to Cart button on the page. This shipping timeframe is also shown for each product on your order confirmation email and web order history.

Ships in 1-3 days

If in stock, these products will be dispatched in 1-3 working days from your order being placed, unless an item ordered is unexpectedly out of stock. Orders received before midday are usually shipped the same day, weekdays only, (excludes public holidays). These products can also be found in many of our stores. Use the Check In Store tool on the Product Detail page to see if a store near you has stock. It pays to ring the store first if you are planning a special journey to buy a particular product, as stock is only updated overnight and can be sold throughout the day at the store.

Ships in 4-6; 5-7; 10-12; 12-15 : Days
These products are in our supplier warehouses and have a longer lead time to dispatching. These products are not stocked in our stores and are only available to order on the website.

Currently In Store Only Sorry these products can’t be ordered online for the time being, but you can check to see if a store near you has stock.
To check instore availability : Select your Region, then click the Check InStore button.
It pays to ring the store first if you are planning a special journey to buy a particular product, as stock is only updated overnight and can be sold throughout the day.

In Store Only These products are not available to order online. Please use the Check in Store tool on the product details page to see if a store near you has stock.
To check instore availability : Select your Region, then click the Check InStore button.
It pays to ring the store first if you are planning a special journey to buy a particular product, as stock is only updated overnight and can be sold throughout the day.

Due DD Month
These products are due for release on the date shown. Many books have a specific release date that we must comply with, so these titles are not available to purchase unless the release date has been reached, and stock has been delivered on time.

Pre Order There’s nothing like eagerly anticipating a new release, so where we can, we offer pre orders to ensure you don’t miss out. When we can, we dispatch your pre order on the evening before the product is released. Depending on your delivery address, these orders can be delivered the very next day.

What happens if the goods are damaged when I open them up?

Should any damage be found after opening your parcel due to the damage being concealed (i.e. not obvious due to packaging) please notify Whitcoulls within 24 hours of delivery. We can discuss replacement or refund options, and will have the courier driver collect the damaged item and return it to us. Please Contact Us

Read more about Delivery Information
Read our Returns and Exchanges Policy

Recommendations

You might also like

Crouching Dragon: the Journey of Zhuge Liang

Paperback | Release Date 04.10.13
$43.95
Buy One, Get One Half Price Books
Ships in 10-12 days. Online Only.

Yellow Sky : Crisis for the Han Dynasty

Paperback | Release Date 15.01.15
$47.95
Buy One, Get One Half Price Books
Ships in 10-12 days. Online Only.

East of the River: Home of the Sun Clan

Paperback | Release Date 24.04.15
$47.95
Buy One, Get One Half Price Books
Ships in 10-12 days. Online Only.

Turmoil : Battle for the Han Empire

Paperback | Release Date 19.02.16
$47.95
Buy One, Get One Half Price Books
Ships in 10-12 days. Online Only.

The Baltic Falcon

Paperback | Release Date 01.05.13
$47.95
Buy One, Get One Half Price Books
Ships in 10-12 days. Online Only.